Last Five

On Regrouping - 2008-10-29
Comfortable vs Happy - 2008-03-19
Workaholic - 2007-12-31
What is teaching, really - 2007-06-09
Frustrated with humanity - 2006-09-12
Haunted Barn & Ride, Retreat, Poor Kitten & Sunglasses
2001-11-03 . 1:15 p.m.

Wednesday night was the haunted barn & hay ride with O Phi A (in Columbus GA). It was fun. First we did the haunted ride, which about gave me a heart attack. Stuff was falling out of trees and "gouls" were trying to jump in our tractor. Then we went to the barn and that was scary too. At one point a "goul" picked up a baby (that was screaming) & ran off with it. Very cruel if you ask me, that crosses the line from an employee trying to be scary, to being seriously mean. Think the parents should sue them lol. So, after that everyone went to Krystal, and then, to sorority sis Kim's apartment (to hang for awhile). Some odd guy from Kim's complex stopped by also (dressed as a pirate or something), & he was funny. He kept saying that he was gonna give us all some beer, but never did.

On Thursday, Auburn finally excepted my 7 transfer credits. Yay I have sophmore status!!! So, I studied for my Political Science test (it seemed fairly easy, but we shall see). Then after that hard test (on Friday) was the Omega Phi Alpha pledge retreat in Clarksville Ga (at an Athens YWCA camp). My big sis Catherine had told me to be ready at 4:30pm, so upon getting out of class at 3:30, I then went to buy a blanket as the cabins were supposed be very cold in the winter. Upon ariival at the dorm at 4, I get three messages from Cat wanting to leave at 4! Bah! So I packed up in about 3 minutes & dashed out the door. Later realizing that I had forgotton bath towels, my interview book, & my pajamas. Typical luck.

Of course this was no surprise when you consider my long family history of scatter-brain-ness (on mom's side mostly). Katie & Kim helped me out luckily though & let me borrow pajamas & a bath towel. This was NOT the end of curses though. Upon arrival at camp, a small orange kitten with a blue collar came up to me. It was adorable so I held it for awhile. A large collie, and a bull mastiff were also there. I tried to take the kitten with me, out of the cold (into our cabin) but wasn't allowed to. And I had bad vibes, leaving it with those dogs, but I had no choice. A few hours later, Katie and Kim come racing into the cabins screaming that the bull mastiff had grabbed the poor kitten & had dragged it off into the woods somewhere!

The kitten had run up a railing / post, to escape the psycho mastiff, & Kim grabbed it, in an effort to get it inside, but the stupid psycho dog jumped in the air and snagged the kitten by the head, out of Kim's arms. Then about 6 of us tried to follow the dog but it growled and there was nothing we could do. Later we found the kittens body in woods. So very depressing. So after dealing with that we went to bed in a very cold cabin. Saturday morning, we did chores around camp (as part of our service) and an obsticle course (a ropes exercise and swinging from tire to tire on tire swings etc). During the tire swinging portion I put my purse & sunglasses next to a tree, and my sungasses got stepped on. BAHH!!!! I will try to see if they're able to be fixed. Arrived back here around 11am & need to do laundry. I am stressed out and tired!

reverse . brake . speed up



Site Meter